drawn sound

Here is a fascinating video of Daphne Oram and her Oramics from 1969.

As I was searching for a virtual version of the Oramics machine I found an Oramics app for the iPhone.

I also found a contraption called the DYSKOGRAPH which reminded me a lot of the Oramics machine. It has a turntable-like interface which you can draw on to create electronic sound loops.

Dissapointingly, I found that the device actually translates the marks into sound based on data collected through a videocamera pointed down at the turntable. The lack of actual (analog) translation of marks into noise, which Daphne Oram’s machine makes me so excited about, was a bit ruined when I discovered how the Dyskograph actually works.

 

-raina

Leave a Reply

